writing again

This morning, I stumbled upon the blog I wrote in high school. I spent a ridiculous amount of time reading everything and reflecting on the kind of person I had been two years ago. I had been thinking for a while that I wanted to keep a blog again, but I can never manage to actually write even when there are things I want to write about. Nonetheless, I’m going to try again, and I might even try to import some of my old posts on to this blog because there are some that I still find relevant.

Things that I wrote about back then: Seoul, urban spaces, travelling, history & culture…

The topic of my old blog came up when I was talking to the professor I will be working for this summer. I mentioned that I used to write about public spaces and public transportation in Seoul. Especially because I technically live in three different cities now throughout the year – Seoul, Toronto and Boston – I’ve become interested in comparative perspectives in how cities work in these respects. Which is something I hope to explore (as well as write about) this summer, but more on that later.

So, building on that, here are some things that I hope to write about in this space: travels, work (related to the things I am passionate about: urban sustainability, environment, human rights, policy…), my writing, especially for other organizations/publications that I write for, school, and exploring the cities that I live in. In general, just trying to be more aware of my surroundings and what is going on in my life, recording my adventures, and keeping track of what is going on in my life.

Another motivation for this blog: In high school, I managed a Facebook group called 인권일기- The Human Rights Diary, which was an initiative I led with Amnesty International Korea’s Youth Group (which I was also leading at the time – but maybe more on that later). It was a Facebook group for posting little “blogs” about everyday insights related to human rights or social issues in general. It was a great success, and sparked conversation about all sorts of different social issues, from mental health in Korean high schools to homophobia and sexism, from child labour to bullying, and so much more. The group has since become inactive, and part of me wants to revive it just so I can post in it. (To be fair, I wrote the vast majority of posts in that group.) Little everyday things, what I am thinking and feeling, need a place to be recorded. I will stop myself from randomly posting in that group, but I can write here.

Lastly, I’m not sure what to do about writing in Korean. There are some things I would rather express in Korean, or that I would like to share with Korean-reading audiences. I will figure that out as I go along, but for now I will probably start another blog on a Korean platform and link the posts here.

Excited about what will come of this new endeavor!

K

Leave a Reply

